Hymns of the Church – Volume 1

The Psalmist commands us to “sing unto the LORD a new song” (Psalm 96:1). This album will help worshipers learn at least a dozen new songs from Hymns of the Church, the new hymnal published in 2011 by Benchmark Press. Oasis Chorale presents these songs as an introduction to the many hymns in this hymnal with classic qualities. For example, the hymn “Thou Glorious Sun of Righteousness” insightfully varies the meaning of “shine on” to show the power of the world’s true Light to make God’s “garden fresh and fair” and complements its theme with music that builds to an inspiring conclusion. A few songs have familiar texts set to enduring music that will be new to most worshipers. The appealing tune for a metrical version of the Lord’s Prayer will make this timeless prayer memorable for the singers. May these songs truly inspire a new song in the heart of every listener.

View album liner notes

Released in 2014

Get Individual Tracks

$1.29 each

Get The Complete Album

Physical CD or Digital Download

Physical CD

Ships by U.S. Mail.


Digital Download

Available immediately.


Please send wholesale inquiries to [email protected]

Song List

  1. Stand Up and Bless the Lord #7
  2. Hail Holy Light #50
  3. Thou Glorious Sun of Righteousness #605
  4. Come Hither, All Ye Weary Souls #727
  5. O Christ, Our Lord, With Teaching True #592
  6. Lord, Through Changing Days #943
  7. Our Father in Heaven #828
  8. God of Grace and God of Glory #360
  9. Father Eternal, Ruler of Creation #359
  10. Be Not Dismayed, Thou Little Flock #492
  11. Who Is On the Lord’s Side? #499
  12. Lord Jesus Christ, With Us Abide #914
  13. Praise the Lord! Ye Heavens, Adore Him #100
  14. Praise, My Soul, The King of Heaven #95
  15. Unheard the Dews Around Me Fall #610
  16. Send Forth Thy Spirit #1009
  17. The Sands of Time #720

Watch & Listen